Sint Eustatius and Saba


The five islands of the Netherlands Antilles are divided geographically into the Leeward Islands (northern) group – SabaSint Eustatius (Statia), and Sint Maarten – and the Windward Islands (southern) group (Aruba, Bonaire and Curacao).

In 1996, the St Eustatius National Parks Foundation was formed to manage the St Eustatius National Marine Park, Quill-Boven National Park, and Miriam Schmidt Botanical Garden. The Saba Conservation Foundation manages the Saba National Marine Park. On St. Eustatius, Golden Rock Dive Center is a full service dive shop, and gathering point for departures into the marine park.


Together Sint Maarten, Saba and Sint Eustatius are often referred as the “SSS” Islands. On Saba, there is a rainforest ecolodge, Rendez-Vous Saba. The ferry, DAWN II links Saba with Sint Maartin three times a week, rain or shine.

Materials from the St. Eustatius Tourism Development Foundation 2012 Statia Sustainable Conference and Exhibition are available online.


  • All the Documents Are Destroyed!: Documenting Slavery for St. Eustatius, Netherlands Antilles by RG Gilmore III, 2008
  • Sustainability of scuba diving tourism on coral reefs of Saba by JP Hawkins, CM Roberts & D Kooistra, 2005
  • St. Eustatius Marine Park: A Case of MPA Problems and Solutions in the Caribbean by KL Plummer, P De Witt, 2004
  • Integrating economic, environmental, and social issues in an evaluation of Saba Marine Park, NA, Caribbean Sea by L Fernandes, 1995
  • First generation Rastafari in St. Eustatius: a case study in the Netherlands Antilles by H Gjerset, 1994

Sint Eustatius and Saba Data